Lindsay in her Moonbounce - courtesy of Laurie Bick

Today was one of those days. My kids don’t get it. They don’t get how fortunate they are. They have a roof over their heads, clothes on their back and food on the table. I try to remind them they should be grateful, to tell them what others don’t have.

It doesn’t work really well. I need to find a new method. A better way to show them what life can be how others are not as fortunate as they are. Gratitude is essential in life, I want them to be grateful and thoughtful. To have the right perspective.

I have been wrestling with ways to try to bring these very real facts to them, instead of the vague concepts they only have. Exposure is the answer. Tomorrow I begin planning for that exposure by contacting organizations that service those in need. To give back even more.

My family is going to make a weekly commitment to volunteering at a shelter or soup-kitchen. To help feed and care for those less fortunate than we are. There is a very fine line in today’s economy between the “haves” and the “have nots” – the edge is so close to so many. I want my kids to appreciate life, be grateful for all they have and generous with others.

I hope by showing them a little more of the world they might have a greater sense of their place in it. To never forget, to always be grateful, to always be thoughtful and always be generous.

That is the commitment we are going to make. How about your family, what commitment will you make?

