Poke:

  • jab: poke or thrust abruptly; “he jabbed his finger into her ribs”
  • tall coarse perennial American herb having small white flowers followed by blackish-red berries on long drooping racemes; young fleshy stems are …
  • intrude: search or inquire in a meddlesome way; “This guy is always nosing around the office”
  • dawdler: someone who takes more time than necessary; someone who lags behind
  • stir by poking; “poke the embers in the fireplace”
  • sack: a bag made of paper or plastic for holding customer’s purchases
  • thump: hit hard with the hand, fist, or some heavy instrument; “the salesman pounded the door knocker”; “a bible-thumping Southern Baptist”
  • jab: a sharp hand gesture (resembling a blow); “he warned me with a jab with his finger”; “he made a thrusting motion with his fist”
  • make a hole by poking
  • punch: (boxing) a blow with the fist; “I gave him a clout on his nose”
  • And now let us add another…

    Poke (Facebook): To Poke a fellow Facebook user whom you may, or may not, know.  By poking you permit that other user to view your profile for 24 hours.  This thereby helps them determine if in fact they know you, or care to admit they do. (insert snide snicker here)

    I am so tired of the poking. I am so tired of the Facebook games. If it is your thing, then awesome! Have at it! Not my thing. I gave my friends plants, I had virtual pets (yes I feel guilty they all died, or were adopted away from the neglectful owner), but I also had other things to do in my life (real life pets, kids, Husband, career, car, bills – not necessarily in that order). 

    I am not trying to be a kill-joy, if I were you WOU D know it. I am not juding any of you (openly). Have fun! Play your Mafia wars, garden, farm, whatever the heck you do…  and poke away at each other, but do NOT expect me to poke you back.  Do you want to know why (as if it isn’t obvious)? Well I have three rules of Facebook.

    1. I only poke if I am not sure I know you, but want to be like “(poke) hey, are you [fill in the blank] who I went to Jordan Junior High in Palo Alto/The Wheatley School in Old Westbury with?” and if you ARE then you will exclaim to yourself “HEY! It’s Maya Sabot!! Wow!”, and you will then Friend request me.
    2. I don’t play games. I do support causes, charities, and other great humanitarian events that Facebook supports.
    3. I don’t go vis on “chat”, well, once every few months when I am curious about who IS vis on chat, and then I can’t figure out how to hide again (like right NOW).
    4. Don’t send me a friend request and expect me to friend you back if I don’t know your name, if you aren’t sure I know your “real” name, but perhaps your Twitter name, or Blog, or such, then add a message? Novel concept.

    So those are my rules. Yea, I am just “super-no-fun-chick“, what can I tell you, but really, in the 20 minutes a day it would take to poke my friends back I could get a LOT more accomplished.  I would prefer those 20 minutes doing something else, perhaps reading a book, or staring at something while sitting motionless on a sofa (never happens).

    Now, if you want to talk about Flare, I am SO there…  I have a weakness, I like Flare. Send me Flare and I might just tap dance and sing a broadway show tune for you.

    Have a poke-free day.

     

     

